The Real World: Wilmington

This is the true story … of four family members … who chose to move to the south … live together and have their lives blogged … to find out what happens … when people stop being polite … and start having babies … The Real World: Wilmington.

Christmas in Wilmington February 16, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Christine @ 3:32 pm

Elly woke up before Miles so we brought her in bed with us to watch some cartoons while he snoozed since we wanted to go downstairs as a family. And, let’s be real, since Mommy and Daddy were exhausted from staying up late the night before. When he eventually woke up we all ventured to see what Santa had brought. Such a lovely moment watching your kids experience the joy of Christmas morning.

Elly loved opening presents whereas Miles couldn’t have cared less. They were both spoiled. I just don’t know what the proper amount of gifts is to get kids so I tend to go overboard like I do in general for special occasions, ahem, birthday parties. The ‘what ifs’ have lessened in my brain but there are still some that like to lurk around in there like ‘what if one Christmas we aren’t as fortunate to be able to afford lots of gifts for the kids?’ But then I remember we have grandparents for back up!

Jamie cooked his first ever beef tenderloin roast and it was perfect. We told Elly it was roast beast, like from the Grinch, so she tried some. Even better than the meal were the kind words Jamie said at the table, thanking everyone for coming to our home, thanking my brother who lives locally for his tremendous support when I was in a very bad place, and praising me for how far I’ve come. He brought such a sentimental element to the evening (that’s no easy feat when dealing with my brothers!). It made me love and appreciate him even more than I already did, and that was A LOT.

I love my family and feel so blessed to have been able to enjoy Christmas this year with them from a healthier place. Here’s to continued growth in 2012!

 

One Response to “Christmas in Wilmington”

  1. Dkeat Says:

    Stole that Miles and Otis pic – thanks! Cool bros.


Leave a Reply

