The Real World: Wilmington

This is the true story … of four family members … who chose to move to the south … live together and have their lives blogged … to find out what happens … when people stop being polite … and start having babies … The Real World: Wilmington.

Trip to Asheville: Day 2 October 29, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Christine @ 2:20 am

Thanks to the denim curtains we were able to sleep in a bit later than usual (did I mention how madly in love I am with those things?) so our day got off to a lazy start which was wonderful.

resize porch

resize stais

We made our way downtown to do some shopping; me for clothes, Jamie for music, then just outside of town we went to grab lunch at 12 Bones. Best. Ribs. Ever. Definitely our kind of place with southern style sides to go with the perfect ribs. We were warned that the line would be stretched out the door but that it moved quickly and was worth the wait, we totally agree!

Back at the cabin we decided to hike around a bit by the creek. We tested out our new baby carrier. Lucky for Ergo, babies can’t write letters of complaint because while being carried about boy did it sound like Elly had a lot of bones to pick with this new carrier. It continued to be cloudy and at times drizzly. While walking by the creek I couldn’t help but feel like I was in a different town, such as the town of Forks. Of course I said this out loud which made Jamie’s eyes roll so far back into his head I thought he might fall over. I have recently gotten ‘sucked’ into the whole Twilight phenomenon, just having finished the 1st book and having watched the movie before coming to Asheville. And the books are set in a town called Forks where it’s rainy and overcast almost everyday. I’m sure Jamie will be mortified that I am publicly admitting my addiction to all things Twilight. Well, at least I’m not gushing about Harry Potter.

resize carrier

resize creek

Later that night we went to the town of Weaverville which is near where we stayed. We went in an adorable pizza place with live music to get a take and bake pizza since it was Elly’s bed time. Elly enjoyed the music and attention from the patrons while we waited. The bedtime battle wasn’t as long this time and once Elly was down we enjoyed our pizza and finished watching ‘Milk’. We would both recommend the movie to anyone who hasn’t seen it before. [Stepping on soapbox] Although our country has made progress the lack of equal rights for gay people is still mind-boggling to me. To quote Dr. Seuss, “A person’s a person no matter how small”…or gay, or straight, or brown, or white, or female, or male….[Stepping off soapbox]

We had another wonderful fall day in Asheville!

 

One Response to “Trip to Asheville: Day 2”

  1. Jenny Squire Says:

    Elly is so adorable! I just love reading your posts. You make me laugh out loud. Then my kids think I am doing something fun over here on my computer so I have to stop.


Leave a Reply

