The Real World: Wilmington

This is the true story … of four family members … who chose to move to the south … live together and have their lives blogged … to find out what happens … when people stop being polite … and start having babies … The Real World: Wilmington.

Take Me to the River September 23, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Christine @ 7:47 pm

 Soon after arriving at the river I told Jamie that I used to be an outdoor girl because I grew up loving fishing, camping, and following creeks as far as I could walk.  I was now questioning the outdoor girl in me as a zillion bugs swarmed around my head while I cautiously took each step in the long grass by the river fearing a snake popping out at any moment.  Also my 1st 2 attempts at fishing resulted in 2 very stuck hooks, one of which was in a tree (!?).

Luke caught a fish!

Luke caught a fish!

As I warmed up to my surroundings my outdoor girl roots took over. I carved a stick for roasting marshmallows, I walked out in the river on slippery rocks, and I showed Elly my fishing skills, this time not getting hooks stuck anyplace. Not even in the mouth of a fish, but it was still fun to cast and reel. I am confident that if it had been the right time of day I would have caught tons of fish. I’m sure they would have been huge and record setting as well.

resize fishing

I’m not in a rush for Elly to get bigger, but it will be fun to show her how to fish, hike, and roast marshmallows one day. I wonder if she will be an outdoor girl or an indoor girl, or maybe a little of both like her Mama.

 

(SO glad I had not seen the John Deere episode of Mad Men yet. If you watch the show, you know what I’m talking about.)

Jamie Riding Bitch
Jamie Riding Bitch

Thank you to our great friends for having us at your home. We only wish we could have stayed longer!

 

Leave a Reply

