The Real World: Wilmington

This is the true story … of four family members … who chose to move to the south … live together and have their lives blogged … to find out what happens … when people stop being polite … and start having babies … The Real World: Wilmington.

Date Night December 8, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Christine @ 11:18 pm

We didn’t capture our night on film, but it was special so I wanted to make a post about it. Jamie and I got all gussied up and went on a date for the first time since Elly was born. We’ve had many babysitters offer to take care of Elly while we go out but we (ok, I) just couldn’t bring myself to part with her for a whole evening.

I mean, what if she had a huge crying fit and only her Mommy could fix it, or what if she does something for the first time and I miss it, or what if she grows up to have abandonment issues because her Mom and Dad wanted to go out without her…ok, I know now I am being a tad dramatic, but the what ifs do tend to spin out of control in my mind, especially now that I’m a mom!

So, as I tearily walked out to the car after saying goodbye to Elly who was in good hands with her Great Grandma, Grandparents, and 2 Uncles, I thought the chance of me really enjoying date night was slim to none (no offense Jamie, even though I know when someone says no offense to me I pretty much automatically take offense, seriously don’t because it wasn’t about you:)

By the time we made it to Zatinya downtown my tears had cleared up thanks to Jamie’s reassuring words. We sat at the bar and drank some wine while we waited for a table, pretty sure I would be intoxicated if I drank more than a glass, it’s been a WHILE. It was weird to not have anyone else to worry about but myself as we sat there chatting with each other. No baby interrupting, no TV, no Crackberry (unless I asked Jamie to check to see if he had any messages, I was/am slightly neurotic), just us. Once I relaxed it was so nice to have time with just Jamie. We enjoyed our favorite dishes together and tried some new ones. We talked a little about Elly but still had plenty of other things to say to each other. We followed dinner with hot drinks from Murky Coffee.  

As we arrived to pick up Elly I jokingly said that our love had re-bloomed, but I really did feel closer to Jamie after our night out. I was so happy and excited to be reunited with Elly, but as much as I missed her I know how important it is for Jamie and I to go out without her sometimes. I will look forward to our next date night.

 

2 Responses to “Date Night”

  1. Lisa Sinclair Says:

    Awww. It was well deserved!!

  2. Aimee Says:

    I am glad that you had a good date night. You absolutely do need nights out away from the kids, not only for you but for them. Don’t worry, it will get easier. And by the time you have 2 you will be ready everyday to have a date night just to get a break.


Leave a Reply

